Back at Windows Again

·

4 min read

I was planning to use Linux OS for at least a few years because I really like it. But for some reason, I need to get back to using Windows again and it's actually not that bad as of now. I spent the past week to do the configurations for my new development environment. Originally I thought I would configure my laptop into a dual-boot machine (Windows 10 & Ubuntu) and it will be perfect. However, a thousand of attempts later, I gave up on this option because I worried that I might destroy my laptop at the end. LOL.

1. Windows

Ever since I was a child, I've always been using a Windows OS and I think this is the common scenario for most people. I also have no idea about the existence of other operating systems until a later age. I miss the computer classes during my primary school because I had the chance to play some very interesting games, but I don't remember their names anymore.

2. Virtual Machine

The very first time that I started using a virtual machine was 5 years ago. At that time, I totally have no idea what was I doing about the script that I had to write for the Operating System class but it was kinda cool to me. A few months ago, I decided to shift from Windows-based to a Linux-based development environment. At that time, I took a smaller step to familiarize myself with Ubuntu installation before I transform my laptop into a Linux machine. I found that there are still some limitations while using the virtual machine. It doesn't feel as fast as the host machine and I don't like it.

3. Ubuntu

I finally made the transition a few days later just because I was too excited and curious to try out new things. I like how I can customize Linux to look like macOS. It's all good until I realized that the online proctoring service I'm going to use for my future exams is not supported on Linux. So I don't want to wait until the very last minute to make the change. I have to make a decision once again. What about a dual-boot machine? Nah, as I mentioned, I tried and it's not easy to get it working, so I gave up.

4. Windows 10 & WSL

This is my final decision. After reading different articles on WSL, I think it is a pretty nice development setup. I saved all of my configurations in the dotfiles repo for my future self. I don't have to download Hyper this time because the Windows Terminal is really impressive.

Resources