#100DaysOfPython AND devchallenges.io

·

2 min read

Logical thinking (if / elif / else)

I dealt with a lot of conditionals exercises today and I was very happy that I completed them both from the course and book. I started to understand why most of the senior developers saying that programming is actually the same in many ways, no matter what languages you use. It is because their logic and concepts are similar. To become a better programmer, we need to think logically and critically and find ways to optimize our solutions from time to time.

Understand before you master it

When I was solving one of the coding exercises today, I found that my solution was extremely verbose. I always want to try different approaches before checking the provided solutions. I allow myself to check the answers only if I really can't get my head around it after many attempts. I think I should not aim to write less code at this stage. It is about understanding the concepts well for now. By practicing every day and not giving up, I can visualize the success behind the consistency.

Another issue I dealt with today was converting epoch time to hours, minutes, and seconds. I think I am really bad at solving time-related problems.

Build game with Python

The if / else statement is commonly used in building games. I googled "2D game in Python" and discovered a nice resource about building games with Python. I would like to spend some time in this area at a later time.

DevChallenges

Besides that, I have completed a beginner challenge from devchallenges.io. You can check out my demo deployed on Vercel and solution on GitHub.

I plan to integrate building projects with my existing skills within the 100 days, at least before the new term begins. I can't guarantee that I'd have much time to complete these extra challenges after that, but I definitely need to put in the effort to complete at least one Python module from the udemy course.